PDA

View Full Version : Craving Role Playing

Bjorn
22 May 2003, 01:14 PM
I’ve been playing with my group for more then ten years. I’ve ran about 90% of the games we’ve played. Mixing both role playing and some combat (for excitement), but lately, two of my three player have begun to lose interest in the role playing aspect of the game and they’re wanting combat ‘missions’. One player enjoys the level of role playing and combat I have. In fact, this player and I both prefer more role playing, feeling that character development and story evolution being the best part of any game. My other players clam up when there’s no combat or action. They avoid talking to NPCs and tend to steer the group towards conflict with NPCs.

This is something that has just begun to happen. When I asked them why they weren’t participating in the role playing, one of them said ‘I just use the games to release frustrations. ‘ I can understand his point of view. Games can help some escape the stresses of the ‘real world’, but to only want to play this type of game I don’t get.

When I was younger, I preferred more combat, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned the best part of gaming is the story. My players also went this way, but now it seems that they’re reversing their styles. Now, if I want to continue playing, I need to change my gaming style to match. The other player who also likes role playing says he doesn’t mind playing a more combat heavy game, but I do! :mad:

Don’t get me wrong. I like combat too, but its not my first choice for a game. Unless you’re running a game with characters in the military (combat troops or starfighter pilots), its kinda tough to make a game with lotsa combat.

Sorry. Just needed to rant. I feel a little better. Thanks. ;)

Bjorn

Darth_Cassed
22 May 2003, 01:45 PM
Well our group is based around conflict for the most part. We usually form our own pirate group and get in trouble from everyone....

I like mysteries too, you just gotta get a good mix.