PDA

View Full Version : Vector Prime Ending -- SPOILERS

JPValentine
6 August 2003, 11:11 PM
I just finished the first of the NJO books, Vector Prime, and was wondering if anyone else was put off by the ending. I am specifically referring to the use of shield ships to reflect the energy back onto the yammosk, causing the water to evaporate, and the planet to freeze into a giant ball of ice.

This all sounds nice, and I am not an expert on planetary climate, but to me it just sounds like an author/publisher's last ditch effor to put a happy ending on an otherwise very down first book. I mean... what they did was "Reflect the energy back onto the planet" to get it to freeze. Last time I checked, if you put an icecube under a heat lamp, it melted. Same goes for the Greenhouse effect we are feeling now. The planet is holding in more energy, increasing its temp; not evaporating more water, supercooling the oceans.

Just wanted to know if anyone else had similar thoughts.

JP

Darthspectre84
7 August 2003, 09:26 AM
If you want an explanation on how a planet was destroyed it was basiaclly the planet had no core and was essentially a ball of ice. NO core, no tectonic chnages, as seen with the fact that everywhere was water under the ice.

Nova Spice
7 August 2003, 09:44 AM
No need for the Spoilers tag, JP. Vector Prime is over four years old. We know Chewbacca dies. And fans of the NJO, such as myself, know just about everything that occurs in the book. It's hard not to; I failed to put it down.

As far as the energy being reflected back on the planet, I generally have ignored explanations. Star Wars is not science fiction; it's space fantasy. Can any of us explain why there's sound in space? Or why TIE Fighters explode in space? Nope. And we don't have to. This isn't Star Trek.

As far as I'm concerned, I thought it was a good strategy by Leia and Lando. I care nothing about the technicalities of it. And most people I think will agree with me. ;)

Wedge in Red2