PDA

View Full Version : Blaster bolts.....how fast are they?

Krad-edis
12 March 2001, 02:16 PM
I have a real blaster, but I don't have a radar gun...can someone help me out here? Just kidding! I am in the middle of a debate on blaster bolts. According to the findings so far, everyone agrees that blaster bolts are not pure light, and are some kind of energy plasma...that may contain some form of physical mass. Whatever the case may be, the question that I was most interested in is how fast do they travel? Pure light moves at the speed of light, but how fast does impure light energy move? Does it move faster than slugthrower rounds or slower? My guess is faster, because blaster bolt energy (if it has actual mass, I am no scientist) probably has less weight than a slugthrower round, and this would explain why they should go faster and have better range since bullets are more prone to the effects of gravity, whereas semi-light plasma..should not be as effected as much, if at all. Does anyone have an educated guess as to how fast blaster bolts (energy plasma) move at? I'm not particularly looking for numbers, but either faster than bullets or slower. Anything on this subject would be appreciated. They will give me a better idea on how to reach a verdict on this whole subject.

Emperor Xanderich II
12 March 2001, 02:52 PM
Well, in the movies you can actually see the blaster bolts, which means they must move relatively slow. If you go by this, then blaster bolts would definately be slower than bullets.

However, I would be inclined to say that they don't actually go this slow, as otherwise over longer ranges (don't forget the movies on see short range action really) you would never hit someone unless they were looking the other way.