PDA

View Full Version : SWM musings

Sithspawn
9 July 2009, 03:44 AM
I've been collecting SWM from the start with Rebel Storm and I started playing around the time the Revenge of the Sith set was released.

I've completed every set, and think Jedi Academy is a great set. In essence, I love this game.

BUT...

maybe it's just me, but the game is changing and so is the community, but not necessarily for the better.

The biggest game change I see is the number of dice rolls increasing. Originally the game was roll a D20 vs Defence. Then we had Block and Deflect. Then Evade and then Parry. Yoda's CE allowed re-rolls. But now it's attack, save, re-roll, FP re-roll, on and on... Wedge, Leia Skywalker, Holo-Sidious all add to this. I'm not liking that sort of gameplay, I preferred it simple.

Now General Obi-Wan Kenobi is banned in official DCI play. A slippery slope down to HeroClix IMHO.

All the community boards are now 90% dominated by arguments. I understand that people are arguing because they are passionate about the game, but the SWM community is no longer a place I want to be so I'm going to start giving Wizards and SWMGamers a wide birth from now on.

Is it just me?
What are your views on the state of SWM and it's community now?

gmjabreson
9 July 2009, 08:04 AM
Never really played the game, but I have been collecting them since Rebel Storm came out. I did dabble in games but never really got into it hard core enough I guess.

I mostly use the minis for roleplaying purposes.

As new sets come out, I have noticed continuous rule changes. Kind of reminds me of all the constant changes in rules and abilities in the old Magic: The Gathering card game. It seemed like every new booster/starter set had new revisions and/or abilities that you had to read about before playing that almost made the game unplayable or in some cases unenjoyable. Which is why I got out of that completely and sold my collection of those cards.