PDA

View Full Version : The HoloNet's New Clothes

Armage Bedar
9 January 2002, 05:23 PM
First, allow me to apologize about yesterday afternoon's outage. That was the result of a corrupted file that I apparently uploaded to the server without checking it. The problem was fixed, albeit four hours later - and for that, I am sorry. Now, on to the exciting news...

I'm sure you all received quite a shock when you loaded the HoloNet this evening (or morning, or afternoon) - well, welcome to the new HoloNet! <b>This</b>, along with the SWRPGNetwork redesign, is what I have been working on for the past several months. As promised, this is the first phase of the long-awaited redesign of SWRPGNetwork, and we decided to reveal the HoloNet first to get you used to it. As you may notice, there are substantial changes, not only to the color scheme and layout but to functionality as well. While it would be wasteful for me to go through them all here, I'll discuss some of the more interesting and important changes:

<ul>
<li><b>Changed Rank System</b>. You may notice new or changed rank badges beside your name. They may be lower, they may be higher. This is due to a change in the way rank badges are determined. No longer are they determined by post count only - instead, a variety of factors including posts, membership length, and rate of posts per day are used to calculate your rank badge. I won't divulge the algorithm, of course - that would be cheating! :-)</li>
<li><b>User Statistics</b>. These can be found in users' profiles, as well as in your own User Control Panel. They are influenced from Wizards of the Coast's d20 version of the SW-RPG. VP (Vitality Points), WP (Wound Points), and XP (Experience Points) are not related to the actual system in anything except name. They're based off of more user information, so they'll change based on your posting habits, just as your rank badge will.</li>