PDA

View Full Version : Picturing characters

Jedi_Staailis
2 February 2002, 05:47 PM
I'm a miserable artist, and I'm really bad at drawing people. But sometimes, I'd really like to give my players a picture of an NPC (or get a 'sketch' of my character). Have any of you less than artistically inclined roleplayers out there come up with any solutions to this problem?

I did manage to find a free utility on the web called Hero Machine (http://www.heromachine.com), but it's primarily designed for fantasy and superhero campaigns, not science fiction. As a result, all the sci-fi characters start to look the same after one or two of them. The upcoming Star Wars Galaxies game is also likely to have a very good system for making characters, but, as I don't plan to play the game, spending $50 for a character image generator seems a bit extreme.

Malkarris
3 February 2002, 02:22 AM
Well, I too am a really bad artist, and I have one solution you might want to check out. What I usually do is surf artist sites. It might take a while, but sooner or later, you'll probably find something to your liking. If you're going to spread this picture around, then I'd get the artists permission to use it, but if its just for you and your friends, I don't think there would be a problem. A good place to start would be Elfwood. (http://elfwood.lysator.liu.se/elfwood.html) There are tons of sci-fi galleries, and quite a few Star Wars fans with drawings in the FanQuarter section. You can do a search, or just look around. Hope this helps.

MadMysticMoose
3 February 2002, 04:06 AM
In addition to Elfwood, there is a large image gallery with various races and SW people at theforce.net, I have found some useful images there. I edit some of the images myself to erase excess hair or clothing, distinguishing marks and so on. The next challenge will probably be to add details, such as lightsabers, as I have two alien Jedi characters.