PDA

View Full Version : A little help here, please...

Talonne Hauk
6 March 2002, 07:09 PM
I've been gaming for a long time, so I'm no novice at GMing. But I'm running into a persistent problem; I have very headstrong players. Whenever the party has to make a decision by committee, it takes them forever to come up with a plan of action, and it seriously eats into gametime. Bear in mind that all my players are friends, so none of this delves into personal insults, and what have you. And to some degree, they enjoy the bickering, as it helps flesh out their characters. But at what point do I drop the hammer? Part of the problem has to be my fault as the GM, because I probably allow them too much free reign in their problem solving, but I don't want to stifle them, either. Any suggestions on how I can improve gameflow?

Donovan Morningfire
6 March 2002, 07:21 PM
To borrow a phrase ...

Kick when their pants are down (not literally mind you)

Sometimes the best things to get the action back into high gear is an immediate threat. Just make sure the threat fits into two criteria:

1) Isn't too dangerous, but can't just be ignored w/o severe consequences either.

2) Fits into the general plot of the adventure.

I've found threats that fit those two things work wonders to getting the players back into gear. Eventually, they'll get the idea that planning by commitee is fine, but dickering over the fine print while under fire is a bad idea :)

dgswensen
6 March 2002, 07:53 PM
I agree with what Donovan said. Having a built-in "expiration date" to the scene will help keep things in track. For example, the players have only so much time to plan and kibbutz before they drop out of hyperspace, or the superior comes into the room and says "We're moving out," or the bad guys are about to leave and they have to move now -- you get the idea. Perhaps a few instances of going into action without a working plan will teach them to be more efficient.