PDA

View Full Version : Web Tools?

Dr_Worm
16 April 2002, 12:30 PM
Hey all you Web Heads out there. Earthlink gave me some space and I thought I'd post my campaign site somewhere besides MSN Communities (which blows but is free). So I need a html publisher and I am a penny pinching Scotsman, so I want a free one. I read on the web that AOL Press put a really good, free, publisher out, but I can't find it. Any suggestions abou the AOL one or any other Publishers?

PS I have casual knowledge and abbility with html, but no good graphics editors (besides an ancient Corel 5).

Bombaatu
16 April 2002, 12:49 PM
I am a professional web developer and my design tool of choice is Homesite. They have a free trial offer available here (http://www.macromedia.com/software/homesite/download/) - I think it's good for 30 days, maybe longer. The purchase price is also pretty low for this good a package ($99.00), altho you may be able to find an older version on E-bay cheaper. The program comes with an excellent help section as well. It handles HTML, JavaScript, and ASP (VBScript) quite well, and I believe version 5 may even have a build-in ASP debugger (I run version 4.5, which doesn't)

Hope that this helps...

Bombaatu
16 April 2002, 12:51 PM
If you are looking for a graphics editor, a trial version of PaintShop Pro 7 can be obtained here (http://www.jasc.com/download_4.asp?) - also good for 30 days.

Nazgul
16 April 2002, 01:30 PM
I use FrontPage, but Darth Cute uses Adobe GoLive (If you're a student you can buy anything for dirt cheap. I mean MS Visual Studio.Net for $90!!! Or MS Office Pro $129.)

dgswensen
16 April 2002, 02:28 PM
If you're familiar with HTML, you might consider using NoteTab Pro (http://www.notetab.com). They have libraries for pretty much any scripting / programming language out there (Javascript, PHP, CSS, C++, etc.), including several different ones for HTML.