PDA

View Full Version : Dark Side Point Questions

cdtatro
11 May 2002, 05:34 AM
Okay, two kinda dumb dark side point questions here. As I've said elsewhere, I'm getting ready to run my first d6 game so I want to be sure what I'm talking about.

1) Could a character start off with a Dark Side Point? Let's assume these characters are now absolute beginners but maybe the equivalent of 4th or 5th level characters if we were talking d20, not 1st level. The player has developed an interesting enough backstory that justifies his character having the DSP. Should I give the player any "bonus points" to offset this, as if it were a Drawback in some other game system? Maybe an extra die of skills (or for attributes)?

2) What "good" do DSPs do for Dark Side Characters? The rules are pretty clear that once you have 6 you're lost to the Dark Side, but why keep track of them beyond that? The Emperor has about 30 poitns according to the Trilogy Sourcebook. Maybe I'm just missing something, but what does it matter when you get beyond 6? Is it only to see how much effort it would take to turn someone back (if so, it seems Luke turned Vader pretty easily for someone with 20 odd DSPs). And how do you even determine DSPs for an NPC anyway - did the game designers just think 33 or so sounded like a good number for Palpatine? Just seems incredibly arbitrary.

Thanks for your patience and for the help,

Chris

JediStarWind
11 May 2002, 06:46 AM