PDA

View Full Version : Killing or threatening the lives of PCs?

GreatHornedDragon
22 May 2002, 04:41 AM
I'm relatively new to the world of GMing Star Wars. I've always been afraid to put in characters or elements that could potentially kill or come close to killing PCs.

What do the rest of you do? Are you ruthless? Do you throw in something that can always be altered or reversed if things go wrong?

What if a PC dies? The last thing you want to do is "take it back" and let him live for some stupid reason (ie. "nah, you shouldn't die, just ignore that").

Thoughts..? Its something I'm interested to hear opinions on.

Thanks.

Dwight.

reliant
22 May 2002, 05:23 AM
I think I have the same problem you do... I always think I am too hard on my PC's. But since none of them have died (one close call) I think I'm doing okay. My thought is that if a PC puts himself (or herself) in a situation where they could get killed, they have to accept the consequences of that. I don't want to kill any of them yet though, so I sometimes fudge damage rolls to keep them alive.

If they die though, that's too bad, I wouldn't "take it back".

Wade Trenor
22 May 2002, 06:57 AM
I haven't Gm'd that much, but whenever a character came close to death, I'd say "This looks like it's getting serious. Ever considered using those FP now?"

My group also uses the Games Master screen, so that the die rolls aren't visible to the players. In this way, you can roll the die and if it will do too much damage to the player, or spoil the story, just say "It just missed.", or reduce the damage inflicted when you roll the dice for damage.

You should also remind your players that they are a team, and should act like one, watching out for each other. If they can do that, they'll most likely survive all encounters.