PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to the Holonet with a GM problem

JediMoonkea
17 September 2002, 10:26 PM
NOTE: QUITE A BIT TO READ, I'VE JUST FOUND THE COLOUR SO I'M EXPERIMENTING, DONT WORRY ABOUT IT

Ok, first of all, I'm a newbie to these boards but I'm don't need any help at being that. I'm here becuase I have a problem with a certain Ewok.

Problem
I have an Ewok who wants to gamble whenever possible, and he uses outragous attacks at the first sign of a fight, even though he and his Kel Dor team mate are both Jedi. I want them to get on with the task in hand, but this Ewok doesn't seem to understand.

Situation
The situation that I'm faced with is what to do. Ignoring him wouldn't be a good choice but if I allow him to go gambling, out of an hour playing session, 10 minutes is usually spent gambling. It may not sound like a large length of time but I'd like to think that my players could get most of the way through a simple mission in that time. But no. This Ewok wants to drink and gamble his life away.
We had a conversation in the last session (Tuesday) and it went something like this (and this is where I experiment with the Colour button I've just found). Ewok, Kel Dor, GM:
Players have somehow arrived on Tatooine, I discuss whats going on. "I wanna Gamble"
"You can't see any dedicated gambling locations"
"But I wanna gamble"
"All that happens here is drinking and betting at the races"
"Can I ask someone when the next Podrace is"
He asks a local and gets an answer of three weeks
"Fine, we'll wait 3 weeks and go to the races"
"If you all you do is wait, you'll die of starvation and thirst, even if you did eat and drink, the races are betting, not gambling"
"Argh, fine let's go into a bar, there will be people who want to gamble"
"No, there will be people drinking and cramped into every space available"
"Lets get on with the mission! I don't want to gamble, its a waste of time"
And the players finally got on with the mission.